Hey lady, is this a knitting blog, or what?

25 04 2007

It hasn’t escaped me that I have yet to post about actual knitting projects. There are so many projects I’m working on, and so little time.

To name a few:

About 1 month ago I started Crusoe. Great looking socks I’m doing in a green/blue sock yarn I picked up at Yarnzilla. I am having difficulties with the heel shaping, mainly because I think the pattern is incorrect. The instructions read as follows:

Turn Heel
Note: For Sl 1, slip stitches purlwise.
Rw 1: [RS] K 13[14], ssk, k1. Turn.
Rw 2: Slp 1, p3, p2tog, p1. Turn.
Rw 3: Slp 1, k4, ssk, k1. Turn.
Rw 4: Slp 1, p5, p2tog, p1. Turn.
Rw 5: Slp 1, k6, ssk, k1. Turn.
Rw 6: Slp 1, p7, p2tog, p1. Turn.
Rw 7: Slp1, k8, ssk, k1. Turn.
Rw 8: Slp 1, p9, p2tog, p1. Turn.
Rw 9: Slp 1, k10, ssk, k1. Turn.
Rw 10: Slp 1, p11, p2tog, p1. Turn.
Rw 11: Slp 1, k12, ssk. Turn.
Rw 12: Slp 1, p12, p2tog. Turn.
Work 6[7] sts.

I realized, with a little lot of help from Jackie, that I was to knit 10 {11} on row one, not the suggested 13 {14}. However, I still end up with not enough stitches to purl on either Row 8 or 10, I can’t remember which, and decided to put this project to bed for a little while. I’m sure you’ll hear more about it in the next few weeks.

In the meantime, I’m working on several dishclothes for my mom using this yarn in various bright, bold, Florida colors. I’ll post pics once they are a) started and b) completed. I’m a little behind…

I’m also working on my first felted project. I’m knitting my mom a bag for her birthday from One Skein Wonders. Love that book. So far I’m not too sure about the size though. Once felted it could end up being more of a coin purse. I knew the yarn I was using (and forgive me for not referencing it, I cannot remember what it was called but it’s in this gorgeous brown and demin colorway.) wasn’t as chunky as the pattern called for so I increased my needles to 11. The pattern also uses two strands of yarn so I figured I was OK. We’ll see how this one turns out! Yes, I should check my gauge. I’m aware of this, people.

So my knitting the next several weeks will focus mainly on my mom’s birthday and Mother’s Day, which are only 1 day apart. I work better with deadlines.

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 04 2007
Jessica

Unfortunately, I can’t help with the pattern problem, but I just wanted to say congrats on joining us bloggers! We’re a wacky bunch. lol

2 05 2007
amy

yes congrats on joining the blog world!

17 05 2007
Knitting Granny

I found you thru Coffee Swap…Wow! For a first-time blogger, you are doing great! All the set-up features, pictures, etc. etc. Congrats! I look forward to reading/seeing more from you!

13 06 2007
Jackie

We need pictures of the sock! I’d love to know how it turned out 🙂

Leave a Reply

